Follow by Email

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

With Malice by Eileen Cook

With Malice was definitely a fun read.  If you like a good mystery, check it out.  It is the story of an 18 year old girl who awakes one day to find herself in the hospital.  She has no idea of how she got there and no memory of the last few weeks, not even of the trip she took to Italy.  But something terrible happened while she was there, and she, and everyone else, are trying to figure out if it was just an accident, or did Jill commit murder.

As the reader, you will begin to put the pieces together, just as Jill is trying to do as well.  If you read Girl on the Train or We Were Liars, you will enjoy With Malice.

This has a release date of June 7, so if you want to read it, come find me.  

From Amazon:

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron's senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

Monday, April 11, 2016

Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach

What a great read!  There were many times that I just had to stop and really appreciate what I was reading.  This was beautifully written and a book I think I will remember for a long time. 

It is the story of Zelda and Parker, two teens who improbably meet up in a hotel restaurant, and change each others lives forever, in the span of just a few days.  Parker is a kid who hasn't spoken a word in 5 years, since his dad died in a car accident.  Zelda is a silver-haired teenage girl who claims to have been born in 1770.  As they get to know each other, they realize they are the best thing that has ever happened in their respective lives. 

From Amazon:

Tommy Wallach, the New York Times bestselling author of the “stunning debut” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) We All Looked Up, delivers a brilliant new novel about a young man who overcomes a crippling loss and finds the courage to live after meeting an enigmatic girl.

“Was this story written about me?”
I shrugged.
“Yes or no?”
I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even more pretty.
“It’s very rude not to answer simple questions,” she said.
I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn’t give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote on my palm.
I can’t, I wrote. Then, in tiny letters below it: Now don’t you feel like a jerk?

Parker Santé hasn’t spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he’ll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

From the celebrated author of We All Looked Up comes a unique story of first and last loves.